Last Christmas, I asked my bf to buy me an embroidery machine. I confess that I haven’t used it much up to this point, but I decided it was time to blow the dust off and make some christmas crafts!

I have a Brother PE-770. So far, it seems like a pretty good machine. I’m not sure how well it would stand up if I was using it on a more regular basis, but for my needs it does the job. The only problems I seem to have is with the thread occasionally getting wrapped around and jamming the machine. 2 broken needles before I figured out not to leave the room before I made sure the thread was feeding correctly!

I’m mostly using Polystar thread. It has a nice sheen to it and my machine seems to like it. I’ve tried Coats & Clark Trilobal poly thread and some Gutermann Dekor which both work okay as well. I ordered some cheap rayon thread off eBay, but haven’t tried it yet.

I purchased some designs from Urban Threads (my favorite machine embroidery site!). They really have cool designs at really reasonable prices. You can also use their designs on items that you make to sell!

Here are a couple of pics of the Brother PE-770 in action:

It did really well on fleece. I used a medium weight cut away stabilizer.

Here are the finished stockings:

They were pretty fun and easy to make. The lettering was done on the PE-770 using one of the built in fonts. The embroidery took about 1.5 – 2 hrs. for each to finish. It’s a little time consuming having to change the thread manually for each color change and to have to trim the jump threads yourself. However, for my needs, the Brother PE-770 does a great job.

The pattern and tutorial for the actual Christmas stocking can be found at Fabricworm.

